Little Sister Got Engaged

Little sister got engaged today

the apocalypse came and the sky turned gray

all these people are in a mad rush to get away

#

All these young people are in a mad rush to grow old

turned to bones at such a young age

don’t they know they will regret it someday

#

Life isn’t getting any longer

that back isn’t getting any stronger

yet all you do is move around and work like a slave

#

Don’t you know, your life is getting away

#

I’m sorry, I don’t want to live that way

and I wouldn’t wish this life on my worst enemy

I wish I could say something to set you free

but you’re lying to yourself, saying you’re happy

#

So they say, grow up, grow old and settle down

just choke your soul and forget your dreams are anywhere around

but I don’t want to join this ghost town

I don’t want to be lost to the point I can’t be found

#

Maybe you think I’m lame

maybe you think I play my life like some kind of game

but at least I’m accomplishing things and you threw your life away

just to get married and have a bunch of kids

I live my life selfishly and maybe I forget what god forbids

but life is short and I’m not here for long

I don’t think enjoying my life is wrong

#

I won’t join the parade

just because it’s the hippest thing

I’m not going to rot in my grave

when I could be anything

not going to sit as a bag of bones and waste my life away

I can see all the zombies crying

I’m not going to behave

While you are doing nothing

I will be flying

#

I’m not following

#

just because!

just because!

just because!

#

Little sister got engaged

the whole world seems staged

I stay young as they all age

so I guess I am immortal

I stand tall as they all fall

#

I’m not throwing away my dreams because you tell me so

I’m not going to leave before it’s my time to go

you can do what you want to do but don’t expect me to follow

#

I’m not a crying bag of bones!

I won’t find me no Mr. Jones

I won’t give away my life to have to sit at home

like a girl that has been stolen away from everything I know

Published by

S.D.G

I love playing badminton above all else. I also really love water - swimming, soaking in a hottub, spending hours in a steam room or doing polar bear swims. I used to be really into wilderness survival & kayaking, but now I enjoy the finer things in life, like relaxation, comforts, spas, riches and anything pleasant. Poetry and song writing is just how I express myself and cope with life. I have a history of mental illness, eating disorders and addiction, plus I was a cancer survivor. Spirituality and healthy living is really important in my life. My art and novel writing is something I enjoy sometimes but not all times. Some people tell me I should sell it but it's just a hobby. You are more than welcome to support me if you like: paypal.me/sdgeiger

Leave a Reply

