Too Good To Be True

Like an injured seagull resting on the wind

I might fall onto the rocks below

and bruise my hope

and lose my soul

 

I feel like my faith has thinned

I don’t know how to go with the flow

I can use my rope

if you would pull

 

But are you even there

I just don’t know…

Are you here?

I just don’t know

 

Maybe I will wait on this rock forever more

I’m pounding against its surface

but I can’t get out

I can’t find you

 

There are monsters lurking inside my core

I’m waking to a lovely sunlit bliss

but you fill me with doubt

why are we askew?

 

I wish we could live happily ever after

but maybe the promises are lies

I wish you were real

I could wish you alive

 

I really wish you were more than just a blur

I can’t see into your imaginary eyes

I wish I could feel

Can my heart survive?

 

The scariest thing that haunts me is you

You are too good to be true

 

Will I ever get to be with you?

 

In the last while, I was plagued with self-doubt

Lack of faith burrowed in my soul

I became skeptical

Unbelieving

 

And when I fell, I let you in and then kicked you out

because everything you said sounded like bull

are you cryptical

or deceiving

 

Was everything you said just a lie?

Was I always so gullible?

Can’t you give me a sign just for tonight?

If it is really possible?

 

Why is this such a narrow road?

One way, and never coming back to love

So long

So gone

 

The journey never ends here

it just goes on forever

I’m always back in this maze

Encrypting the days

 

I stand here all alone

so standoffish but so amazed

 

I try to listen to my heart

maybe it doesn’t exist

Maybe love is just a thing that only happens

to those who are lucky enough

 

Did my heart grow cold and solid

with all the blood I tried to steal?

Did the lies come from a fairytale or parable

am I even real?

 

I try to love

but I can’t feel

 

I have to be tough

when I’m not sure what’s real

 

I know you’re just a sweet error in my brain

but you taught me love somehow

and maybe this is a bittersweet end

goodbye pituitary gland…

 

Everyone knows I’m just insane

so what’s the point of fighting it now

you’re my imaginary friend

imaginary

 

The saddest thing that happened to me was you

You’re too good to be true

Published by

S.D.G

Poetry and song writing is just how I express myself and cope with life. My art and novel writing is something I enjoy sometimes but not all times. Some people tell me I should sell it but it's just a hobby. You are more than welcome to support me if you would like.

Leave a Reply

