Blinded by Infatuation

I know the music sounds so chipper, but my mood has sunken down through the floorboards, so bitter

it makes me wonder, if she ever enjoyed a good song like this, or if she ever saw the stars glitter

what nasty, vile creature was harbored in her soul, to make her such a quitter?

she was so beautiful and she could have been something better

but she had that empty feeling deep down in her soul

I don’t think anyone could have saved her

 

That beautiful Asian flower…

 

You see, she met a guy online and dreamed of running away to Ireland

but her mamma said stay, this is where you belong

but she didn’t find any comfort in her own culture’s music

she could never sing along

and she desperately sought something more spiritual than her island

and it made her mamma cry

every time her daughter wistfully gazed up into the sky

every time she talked about running away

just to be with some older guy

 

so her parent’s set her up with a young Asian man

and she was happy with him for so many days

 

I’m pretty sure it was just a silly phase

because her naivety caught her up in a maze, that had a doom-filled ending

 

And do you know what’s interesting?

she never fell in love, she was just blinded by infatuation

and he never loved her either because

one day he told her to meet her down by the riverside

and he told her he was leaving without much of an explanation

he just didn’t love her anymore

 

and that’s why her life ended that night

 

I know it’s a terrible story but thanks for listening

you might think it was a tragic love story

but how? that girl never knew love

and she killed herself so early

and vowed to never love again, even in reincarnation

 

And all they saw when they found her

was a picture of her and him

in the middle of all her blood glistening

 

and her mamma asked, why oh why?

and they said she was just blinded by infatuation

this was no act of desperation in the name of love,

no Romeos here, no Juliets – but they wanted a better explanation

And now I can’t help but ponder as I listen to this uplifting love song

is it something her soul regrets?

 

so I search deep inside, why, why, why?

why did she live such a tragic life?

what was the point of her suffering, if not to teach us something now

 

her soul could have been bright like the sun and free like an eagle

but she became that poor Asian flower cast by her own shadow

 

It wasn’t his fault, she never could have blamed that guy Romeo

I know, it was just because she didn’t know who she was inside

lost and in search of her salvation

she felt lonely, and a huge sense of dislocation

when she couldn’t know herself, she couldn’t feel the sun

her mother was spiritual and supportive, but through her genes, she was the magical one

but she refused to accept who she was right until the day she died

and so I say, my friends, dance and sing!

and embrace the true love in life, that glistens for everyone and everything

life is too precious to be blinded by infatuation!

that real love is everywhere, but it doesn’t come from outside

it’s in our hearts

inside you and I

and inside we know how to follow love instead of infatuation

and I will live my life, doubly in love just for her, with clear eyes

shining brightly like the sun, free like the eagle, until the day I die

and I hope that you, too, won’t be blinded by infatuation

 

R.I.P my Asian flower

Published by

S.D.G

Poetry and song writing is just how I express myself and cope with life. My art and novel writing is something I enjoy sometimes but not all times. Some people tell me I should sell it but it's just a hobby. You are more than welcome to support me if you would like.

Leave a Reply

